Like Mother, Like Daughter

I don’t know why I make a point to irritate my child when I know full-well she is never hot/cold. In the summer, in one hundred twelve degree weather, we play ball outside, go for two mile walks, and ride bikes. Well, she rides her bike. I watch, because that saying “…it’s just like riding a bike” is complete shit.

Ahem. And on the coldest days, my daughter insists on wearing a sleeveless summer dress. When it is snowing, she likes to sit on the curb and sing Christmas carols and eat ice cream.

When I was in high school, my mother used to tell me I had my seasons mixed up: shorts to school with boots and a sweater in the fall and winter. Jeans all summer with tee shirts.

I don’t know why I am ever surprised; why I try to force her to do anything else. I honestly think she knows better than I.

Leave a Reply

